Another newbie

Hi all, I'm new to this and I'm here for my daughter who is 9 and has pulled her eyebrows and lashes out completely. I have no clue what to do, she has been having tummy problems for years (lots of accidents) and I think they are linked. Fingers crossed the tummy problems seem to be turning a corner but she's still pulling at her eyebrows even though there is barely nothing left. Any suggestions gratefully received.

Tagged:

Comments

• Hi there Niclaw12, welcome to the forum.

I’m nearly 36, but started pulling at the age of 11. I’ve been in therapy through this page, for over a year. My longest PF time was 70 days a year ago. I’ve slipped up a bit of late, but the biggest thing for me is remembering that my hair doesn’t define who I am. If I slip up, that was then & this is now.

I’ve used lots of different techniques, & am probably still trying to find “the right one” for me.
    I have a spikey ball that I run through my hands, I apply LOTS of coconut oil (it helps soothe the eyes) I try hard to talk kindly and gently to myself-I don’t always get it right, but it’s practice, I try to rub an itch in my eye with the back of my arm (so hands are not near eyes.) If they do go near, I say to myself, “Lisa, remember we don’t do that anymore.” Also making sure I don’t obsess in front of the mirror & finally, one my coach said for me to do today,was to keep a record a few times a day of my feelings. When we pull, we’re not dealing with our feelings and instead shutting them down. With my last relapse, that is very much the case. I had been criticising (subconsciously) people in my life, then as I couldn’t deal with that and the realisation dawned, I turned the criticism & negativity to me!