Hi

Hi,
My names Ava and I’m new to this thing. I’m 17 and I’ve been pulling for about 2-3 years now but I really want to stop especially before exams next year as it makes it really hard to study and it was also getting to a really bad, to a point where people were noticing me do it.
I guess I was just wondering how everyone else is getting on-it’s nice to know you’re not completely crazy and I guess it’d also be nice to talk to someone who understands what it’s like. If anyone has any tips on what to do to stop the urges when you’re revising that’d be great!! Thanks

Comments

• Hi Ava
    Really great to see you write here :)
    You are most definitely not alone !!!!!
    Im 25 and I’ve been pulling for about 10 years and I find it incredibly frustrating :(
    Like you mention you pull a lot when revising, I also pull when concentrating. Perhaps you could get a fiddly toy to fiddle with while revising. These new craze of ‘squishies’ are great. They also feel quite therapeutic and a good distraction. Also perhaps every time you get an urge.... before you pull on a piece of paper do a small line and start creating almost a tally. I was introduced to this by a CBT therapist a few years ago. Making you aware of your urge drawing a line can ease the urge and distract you from pulling.

Ava, remember your not alone and write here whenever you need too.

Hope you hear from you soon

Katie x
  • Hi Ava,

Welcome to the forums, you’ll find these a great place for support, I personally find it incredibly helpful. I’m 35, and started pulling at the age of 11. I’m currently 33 days PF,& have been in therapy (through this page coaching.care) since June last year. There’s a great community on here, so hope you find it helpful.